Friday, March 26, 2021

Indian Derby

The Indian Derby is a Thoroughbred horse race held every year. It is contested on the first Sunday in February and is run over 2,400 metres at the Mahalaxmi Racecourse in Mumbai.The "Indian Derby" is the country's most prestigious horse race, conducted every year on the first Sunday in February. The Epsom Derby is a type of horse race that takes place at Epsom Downs Racecourse in England. The race was named after Edward Smith-Stanley, the 12th Earl of Derby, who started it in 1780.Since 1984, the United Breweries Ltd has sponsored the Indian derby, which was later renamed the McDowell Indian Derby. It is one of the city's most prestigious sporting events, with the greatest cash award for any single sporting event in India. The race was first run in 1943, and Princess Beautiful, a filly ridden by Edgar Britt, won. There have been many thrilling endings to the Indian Derby, but none compare to the one on February 8, 1947, when a filly named "Her Majesty," ridden by Australian jockey W.T Evans, son of 1907 Melbourne Cup winner jockey William (Billy) Evans,[1], suffered a stunning fall after the start of the race, but both the rider and the horse were brave enough to get back on their feet and finish the race.